Bali Discovery Tours: Homepage
Bali Hotels, Bali Villas and Bali News from balidiscovery.com
Home Bali Contact Bali Practicalities Bali News Bali Services Bali Transportation Bali Sports Bali Excursions Bali Villas Bali Hotels
Home · News · 'The Java Man' by Jamie James
Bali Hotels, Bali Villas and Bali News from balidiscovery.com
Bali Hotels
Bali Villas
Special Deals!
Packages
MICE Handling
Bali Excursions
Culinary - Dining
Guided Tour
Bali Spas
Bali Sports
Diving
Golf
Bali Transportation
Car Rental - Selft Drive
Private Jet Charter
Bali News
Bali Services
Bali Practicalities
Bali Contact
Bali Career
Home
 
Bali Update
Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!
 
PATA header
PATA Gold Award 2007
Bali Update
PATA Gold Award Winner 2007
 
Bali Contact
Bali Discovery Tours
Komplek Pertokoan
Sanur Raya No. 27
Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai,
Sanur, Bali, Indonesia

Tel:
++62 361 286 283

Fax:
++62 361 286 284

U.S.A. Fax:(toll free)
1-800-506-8633

U.K. Fax:
++44-20-7000-1235

Australian Fax:
++61-2-94750419

24h:
++62 812 3819724

Bali Discovery

SITE PATA ASITA
Bali News

'The Java Man' by Jamie James

Indonesia-based Author Launches Second Novel at Ubud Writers and Readers Festival.


Bali News:
Click Image to Enlarge

(10/11/2004)

Jamie James's latest novel, The Java Man, is an acerbic, often hilarious satire in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Jonathan Franzen. The Java Man tells the story of Noor, a picaresque Indonesian poet who comes to England on a fellowship, where he wreaks emotional havoc among the inhabitants of a secluded country village. The book is set in present-day England, Singapore, and Indonesia.

The Java Man is James's second novel and launched in conjunction with the Ubud Writers and Readers Festival October 11-17, 2004. His first novel, Andrew & Joey: A Tale of Bali, about a pair of gay American men in Bali, garnered widespread critical acclaim when it was published in 2002.

The Java Man

For more than a hundred years, nothing has changed at Thistlethwaite, a gloomy old mansion in rural northwest England that shelters a society of poets and scholars with lots of money at their disposal, but little common sense.

Then a mysterious stranger, a poet from Java who has won a fellowship from the society, arrives in their midst. Noor brings with him healing potions, a magic kris, and a bawdy ancient epic – fascinating glimpses of a world utterly unknown to the innocent inhabitants of Thistlethwaite. One by one they fall under Noor's spell, especially Tildy, the society's 60-year-old director who thought she had learned to live without love. When a scandal threatens to shut down Thistlethwaite forever, Noor comes to the rescue, leading a merry chase that careens from a ruined castle in the wilds of England, to the luxurious watering holes of Singapore, to a chaotic household in Yogyakarta.

The Java Man, Jamie James's second novel, is a witty, entertaining, deeply compassionate study of miscommunication across the cultural divide, the dangerous limitations of book learning – and the healing power of love.

When the Indonesian edition of Andrew & Joey was published, the Asian press was equally impressed. Brian Bennett wrote in Time Asia, "Jamie James's first novel, Andrew and Joey: A Tale of Bali," paints a vivid portrait of paradise, and shows how sour things can turn, through 365 days of breathless, gossipy e-mail exchanges. Quick and pleasurable to read, the novel provides a strangely haunting glimpse into the world of exquisite illusions that Bali was until so recently." In Tempo, Indonesia's leading news weekly, Dewi Anggrani wrote, "James's first work of fiction, a touching story about an American gay couple against a Balinese backdrop, has come off exceptionally well. Andrew & Joey should be read: its human quality reaches and touches the reader's emotional core."

Jamie James is also the author of six nonfiction books including The Music of the Spheres: Music, Science, and the Natural Order of the Universe, which The New Yorker called "graceful and entertaining," and Pop Art.

Jamie James was born and raised in Houston, Texas. He has lived full-time in Indonesia since 1999; prior to that he lived in New York City, where he contributed to major newspapers and magazines. As a literary critic, his work has been published by The New Yorker, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Time Asia. His travel writing appears regularly in The Atlantic Monthly and Condé Nast Traveler. James was art critic for The New Yorker from 1995 to 1999. He lives in Seminyak, Bali, where he and his partner own and manage a restaurant.



© Bali Discovery Tours. Articles may be quoted and reproduced if attributed to http://www.balidiscovery.com.

       

 
Bali News by Bali Update
Subscribe to the Bali Update
Receive the latest news from Bali by email!



Our [Privacy Statement] explains how we handle the data you are providing.

 
Bali News by Bali Update
Explore the Archive of the Bali Update
Find related articles in our news archive!




or try to use Google Search :

Home · Bali Hotels · Bali Villas · Bali Excursions · Bali Sports · Bali News · Site Map · RSS

Bali News: More News
What’s New in Ubud?
Renewed Alaya Resort Ubud and Manisan Restaurant Now Open for Business
(9/25/2016)
Return to Sender
Singaporean Arrested Trying to Smuggle Drugs Through Bali’s Postal System
(9/25/2016)
Why the Chicken Crossed the Ring
Chicken in Cock Flight Sends Balinese Owner to Intensive Care with a Cut Artery
(9/25/2016)
Bali Beach Head in the Fight Against Polluted Oceans
2,500 Volunteers Join Coastal Clean Up of Bali Beached Organized by Bali Hotel Association
(9/25/2016)
A Lack of Chinese Characters
Bali Legislator Wants Punishment Imposed on Chinese Scuba Divers Who Deface Coral Reefs
(9/25/2016)
Bali’s Struggles with LGBT Travel Continues
Some Elements in Bali Take Strong Umbrage at Reports of Gay Pre-Wedding Photos Taken in Bali
(9/27/2016)
More Capacity Between Bali & Lombok?
Garuda Eyes Adding Seat Capacity Between Bali and Lombok
(9/25/2016)
Bali Beach Body Contact
Sheraton Bali Kuta Resorts Hosts Bali Beach Body Combat on Sunday, November 6, 2016, to Help UNICEF
(9/25/2016)
Bali and Beyond to Maumere
Garuda Indonesia Flies Four Times a Week Bali to Maumere, Flores
(9/25/2016)
In a Spanish Mood
Spanish-based Indonesian Pianist Ananda Sukarlan to Speak and Debut New Compositions at Ubud Writers and Readers Festival
(9/25/2016)
Feeling Ill? Call the ‘Boogie Man’
Bali Airport Provides Mini-Ambulance to Reduce Response Time in Case of a Medical Emergency
(9/25/2016)
Feeling for a Motherless Child
Moved by News Reports of a Motherless Child, Bali Governor Reaches Out to Help the Baby and its Single-Father
(9/25/2016)
All [News]!