Indonesia Adding 20 Nations as Visa-Free?

Indonesia’s Minister of Tourism and the Creative Economy, Sandiaga Uno, is urging the government to add 20 countries to the current “free-visa” list of nine ASEAN members currently granted this facility.

Sandiaga claims that adding the selected 20 countries will boost tourism and bolster the national economy.

Tourism Minister – Sandiaga Uno

The Minister’s recommendation on visa-free facilities formed part of a video uploaded to the YouTube Channel of the Indonesian State Secretariat. The 20 countries recommended for free visitor visas to Indonesia are:

  • Australia
  • China (PRC)
  • India
  • South Korea
  • U.S.A.
  • U.K.
  • France
  • Germany
  • Qatar
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Saudi Arabia
  • The Netherlands
  • Japan
  • Russia
  • Taiwan
  • New Zealand
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Plus, two unspecified Middle Eastern Countries

The nine ASEAN member nations currently eligible for visa-free visits to Indonesia:

  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Cambodia
  • Lao PDR
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Figures from the National Statistic Agency (BPS) record a cumulative total of foreign visitors to Indonesia for January-October 2023 of 9,942,004, an increase of 124.30 percent over the same ten months in 2022.

Sandiga’s list of countries recommended for visa-free access has been submitted to Joko Widodo for Presidential review.

13 International Airports

Meanwhile, the Ministry of State-Owned Enterprises recommends that 13 Indonesian Airports be prioritized as international gateways. 

5 Airports have been designated as “Super Priority Airports:” namely, Yogyakarta International Airport, Lombok International Airport, Komodo International Airport, and Sam Ratulangi International Airport. 

Among the other airports targeted for development as international gateways are Batam, Jakarta, Surabaya, Makassar, Banda Aceh, Jayapura, and Kertajati.

Stay Informed on Bali Tourism-Related News: Subscribe to Bali Update